Governor Jan Brewer Establishes “National Day of the Cowboy”

Holiday to Honor Contribution of Cowboy Culture in Arizona
PHOENIX – Governor Jan Brewer today signed into law SB 1139, legislation that officially establishes an annual “National Day of the Cowboy” in Arizona.

“Many of the blessings enjoyed by Arizonans today are because of the contributions of our Keepers of the Range: The Arizona cowboy and cowgirl. These men and women – of all races and backgrounds – are among the truest symbols of the American southwest,” said Governor Brewer. “I thank Senator Griffin for sponsoring this measure and legislators for taking action to honor our unique cowboy culture.”

A resolution designating a National Day of the Cowboy was originally passed by the U.S. Senate in 2005. In 2008, Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords sponsored a bill for Cowboy Day. That same year, Arizona became the first state in the nation to pass a resolution – SCR 1046 – which was adopted unanimously by the Arizona Legislature. Legislators have designated a National Day of the Cowboy every year since, except 2010.

With today’s signing by Governor Brewer, Arizona becomes just the fourth state – following New Mexico, Wyoming and California – to establish this observance as a non-legal holiday.

National Day of the Cowboy will be observed annually on the fourth Saturday of July.




Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s